Skip to content

Sounds-Write Extended Code: Main Collection decodable stories (Set of 18 titles)

$108.00 incl. GST

Set of 18 titles; each book is 16 pages long.

Matched to phoneme units 1-20 of the Extended Code – see below for focus sounds and book titles.

Only 9 left in stock (can be backordered)

SKU: SWEC-MC Category:

Sounds-Write decodable books are written to provide engaging and plentiful practice opportunities to learners. Sounds-Write books can be used by anyone teaching children to read: they match perfectly to the Sounds-Write teaching scope and sequence, or may be used as supplementary books providing more variety, practice and reading material when using a different scope and sequence.

The Sounds-Write ‘Main Collection’ range of decodable stories for the Extended Code build the students’ code knowledge as they progress through the series through a carefully graded, step-by-step introduction of new sounds and spellings in each book. These books contain more words per page than many other decodable readers, enabling students to build their reading stamina. The 18 decodable stories in this series cover the phoneme units 1 to 20 of the Extended Code, giving plenty of practice with the most frequent spelling alternatives for specific vowel sounds. They are suitable for NZ Year 2, as well as for intervention settings with older learners.

Extended Code UnitSoundBook Title
1/ae/The Fun Day
Ted Saves the Day
2/ee/Billy’s Easy Day
A Secret at School
4/oe/The Golden Glow
Home Sweet Home
6/er/The Worst Day
A Turn on the Turf
7/e/Playing Dead with Ted
Guests at the Wedding
8/ow/Greatest Show in Town
A Hound in Town
10/oo/ as in moonThe Rules at School
11/ie/Fine Time at Playgroup
12/oo/ as in bookThe Fright by the Brook
14/u/The Sad Monkey
19/or/Mystery of the Waterfall
20/air/The Scare on the Lake


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Sounds-Write Extended Code: Main Collection decodable stories (Set of 18 titles)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *